g The Film Panel Notetaker: 2007 Tribeca All Access Winners Announced

Sunday, April 29, 2007

2007 Tribeca All Access Winners Announced

New York, NY, April 29, 2007 – Tribeca Film Festival, presented by American Express, along with the Tribeca Film Institute today announced the winners of the fourth Tribeca All Access Creative Promise Awards. Tribeca All Access (TAA), a program designed to help foster relationships between film industry executives and filmmakers from traditionally underrepresented communities, is made possible by Bloomberg.

At last night’s Tribeca All Access Awards at the Tribeca Film Center, the following winners were announced:

Narrative section prize – Ben Rekhi for his current screenplay, “Waste,” which tells the story of a widowed NYC sanitation worker who must negotiate his relationship with his son after he becomes a key figure in a labor dispute (Co-written by John Campo).

Documentary section prize – Dee Rees for her documentary work-in-progress, “Eventual Salvation,” which follows an 80-year-old grandmother who returns to Liberia to rebuild her life and community after years of civil war.

Screenwriting section prize – Marilyn Fu for her screenplay, “Sisterhood of the Night,” an adaptation of the short story by Pulitzer Prize winner Steven Millhauser. Caryn Waechter is attached to direct.

Honorable mentions were given to:

Documentary – Jae-Ho Chang and Tara Autovino for their work-in-progress, “Ultimate Christian Wrestling,” which follows a group of disenchanted former pro-wrestlers as they combine their passion with ministry.

Screenwriting – Roberto Marinas for his screenplay “Last Road Home,” in which a dying man flees his suburban home to live out his final days in paradise, only to be pursued by his estranged son who’s been charged with the task of bringing him home before time runs out.

Jurors for this year’s Tribeca all Access included actor Kerry Washington, who has starred in “I Think I Love My Wife” and “Ray”; actor Freddy Rodriguez, who has starred in “Grindhouse” and HBO's “Six Feet Under”; Vogue’s Editor at Large, André Leon Talley; Producer Elizabeth Avellàn; Susie Castillo, host of MTV’s “TRL,” and former Miss USA; Fashion designer Rachel Roy; DJ Spooky; Hip hop artist, actor and composer Heavy D; Entertainment executive Tracey Edmonds; and 2006 TAA alumni Milton Liu and Shola Lynch.



Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home