g The Film Panel Notetaker: 2007 Gotham Award Winners

Wednesday, November 28, 2007

2007 Gotham Award Winners

...and the accolades continue. Tuesday night, the IFP's 17th Annual Gotham Awards were handed out in New York. A couple of Gotham winners are mirrored in Film Independent's Spirit Award nominations such as Great World of Sound, so double congrats and good luck to Craig Zobel!

And the Gothan Award winners were...

* Best Feature presented by Kyra Sedgwick

Sean Penn, director; Sean Penn, Art Linson, Bill Pohlad, producers (Paramount Vantage & River Road Entertainment)

The Best Feature Jury included actors Benjamin Bratt and Kerry Washington, filmmaker Ryan Fleck, composer Mark Mothersbaugh and producer Ron Yerxa.

* Best Documentary presented by Kerry Washington and Emile Hirsch

Michael Moore, director; Michael Moore, Meghan O'Hara, producers (The Weinstein Company)

The Best Documentary Jury included filmmakers Bob Drew, Rory Kennedy, Jennie Livingston, Morgan Spurlock, and Marco Williams.

* Breakthrough Director Award presented by Keri Russell

Craig Zobel for GREAT WORLD OF SOUND (Magnolia Pictures)

The Breakthrough Director Jury included actor Vera Farmiga, director of photography Russell Fine, producer Mike Ryan, and filmmaker/actors John Cameron Mitchell and Mike White.

* Breakthrough Actor Award presented by John Cameron Mitchell

Ellen Page in JUNO (Fox Searchlight Pictures)

The Breakthrough Actor Jury included actors Jeff Daniels and Peter Sarsgaard, filmmaker Michael Cuesta, and casting director Sheila Jaffe.

* Best Ensemble Cast Award presented by Sarah Jones

Albert Finney, Rosemary Harris, Ethan Hawke, Philip Seymour Hoffman, Brian F. O'Byrne, Amy Ryan, Michael Shannon, Marisa Tomei (THINKFilm)

- AND –

Cedric the Entertainer, Don Cheadle, Chiwetel Ejiofor, Mike Epps, Vondie Curtis Hall, Taraji P. Henson, Martin Sheen (Focus Features)

The Best Ensemble Cast Jury included actors Michael C. Hall and Parker Posey, filmmaker David Gordon Green, and casting director Ilene Starger.

* Best Film Not Playing at a Theater Near You Award presented by Marisa Tomei

Ronald Bronstein, director; Marc Raybin, producer

The editors of Filmmaker, a magazine published by IFP, selected the winner of the Best Film Not Playing at a Theater Near You Award.


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home