g The Film Panel Notetaker: Brooklyn Independent - "Johnny Berlin" & "Ten Souls Rising"

Wednesday, June 06, 2007

Brooklyn Independent - "Johnny Berlin" & "Ten Souls Rising"

Brooklyn Independent - Johnny Berlin & Ten Souls Rising
June 4, 2007

Monday night, I attended the Brooklyn Independent Cinema Series in Park Slope and saw the documentary Johnny Berlin directed by Dominic DeJoseph, which was preceded by the short Ten Souls Rising directed by Emily Rosdeitcher.

About Johnny Berlin:
This documentary follows Jon Hyrns, a porter aboard a refurbished 1930s luxury train, on a week-long trip down the West Coast from Seattle to Los Angeles. While going about his business making beds and cleaning toilets, he expounds upon his life as a struggling writer while holding down a workday job. Simultaneously funny and dark, the film is ultimately an intimate, offbeat, and humorous portrait of mid-life crisis presented as a monologue.

FYI, Johnny Berlin is available on DVD through Amazon.com or the distributor Indiepix.net at the following link: http://johnnyberlin.indiepix.net/.

Here is the full expanded screening schedule for JOHNNY BERLIN on The Documentary Channel for June:

--Tuesday 6/12 at 3 am CST / 4 am EST *please note that the actual premiere is on Saturday the 16th. Due to the film playing on our PBS affiliate in NY on the 18th, we have to schedule a late-night play as they pick up our feed manually for play-back the following week.

--Saturday, 6/16 at 8 p CST / 9 p EST. (official premiere*) and again at12:30 a CST / 1:30 a EST

--Monday, 6/18 at 7 p CST / 8 p EST and again at 1 a CST / 2 a EST

--Sunday, 6/24 at 7 p CST / 8 p EST and again at 12 a CST / 1 a EST

--Wednesday, 6/27 at 6 p CST / 7 p EST and again at 10:15 p CST / 11:15 p EST

The Documentary Channel is currently available on the following carriers- Nationwide: DISH Network 197, Nashville: Comcast Digital 241/Charter Digital 176, New York: NYCTV 25, and Denver: KBDI PBS Channel 12.

About Ten Souls Rising:
Eight New Yorkers and two French tourists become intimately acquainted when they get trapped together in an elevator in a New York City skyscraper. When the electricians’ union and the mechanics’ union reach an impasse over who has authority to fix the elevator, the passengers take matters into their own hands and use their imagination to save themselves.

Labels: , , ,

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home